Soybean Disease Loss Calculator

Calculate yield and economic losses due to soybean diseases

Search Criteria

Query multiple types of production and estimated yield loss data by timeframe, disease, and geographic area*

  1. Select desired start year and end year. For a single year of data choose the same year for both start and end.
  2. Select a disease category, which will autofill the diseases.
  3. Select one or multiple diseases.
  4. Further define geographic area by country, region, or select one or multiple states.
  5. Click on Search and results will display.
  6. Further details are available by clicking on Production and Losses within results.
  7. If specific diseases or states are not selected, the output will include values for all diseases and states present in the selection boxes.
  8. NA means data not collected for that year and geographic location.

*Not all data categories are available for all locations and all years, and disease categories changed as data collection progressed. Disease loss data was traditionally presented separately for the Northern U.S and Southern U.S., categories which differ from the states within regional IPM center groupings.

  • These data are expert estimates only.
  • Data is currently available beginning in 1996.
  • Because data was obtained from differing sources, discrepancies among years and locations exist that cannot be accounted for.
  • Most soybean data were back calculated from reported yield reductions to percent losses using production reports from USDA NASS and OMAFRA.
  • Soybean loss data not available for Florida from 2002-2003; Minnesota from 1999-2000; New York from 1996-2016; Ontario in 1996, 1997, 2003-2005, and 2007-2009; Pennsylvania in 2001; and Texas in 2011. Results do not include this data.
  • Cercospora leaf blight and purple seed stain losses have been combined.
  • From 1996-2010, losses from root knot nematode (RKN) and other nematodes (excluding soybean cyst nematode) were contained in a single category; from 2011 onward, RKN data were separated from the other nematodes category; from 2014 onward, Reniform nematode data were separated from the other nematodes category.
  • Red crown rot was added as a separate category beginning in 2021.
  • Canadian data from 1998 may represent all of Canada.
  • Data from Iowa in 2005 was missing. To account for this, disease-related extension articles from 2005 and data from other sources were used to estimate percent losses for this year.
  • The estimated yield loss value for purple seed stain in New York is due to dockage from low quality seed in 2021-2023.
  • The estimated yield loss values for Diaporthe (Phomopsis) complex from New York and Ontario are due to dockage from low quality seed in 2021-2023 and 2021-2022, respectively.
  • Inflation has NOT been accounted for in reported USD values.

How to cite information from this resource:

Crop Protection Network. 2024. Estimates of crop yield losses due to diseases and invertebrate pests: an online tool. Https://

For more information about disease loss data, please see the About page.

Contributors 2010 to 2023

Tom Allen, Mississippi State University; Gary Bergstrom, Cornell University; Mandy Bish, University of Missouri; Kaitlyn Bissonnette, University of Missouri; Jason Bond, Southern Illinois University; John Bonkowski, Purdue University; Carl Bradley, University of Kentucky; Emmanuel Byamukama, South Dakota State University; Martin Chilvers, Michigan State University; Cliff Coker, University of Arkansas; Alyssa Collins, The Pennsylvania State University; John Damicone, Oklahoma State University; Anne Dorrance, Ohio State University; Nicholas Dufault, University of Florida; Maira Rodrigues Duffeck, Oklahoma State University; Paul Esker, The Pennsylvania State University; Travis Faske, University of Arkansas; Nicole Fiorellino, University of Maryland; Loren Giesler, University of Nebraska-Lincoln; Zane Grabau, University of Florida; Arvydas Grybauskas, University of Maryland; Chelsea Harbach, University of Illinois; Glen Hartman, University of Illinois; Donald Hershman, University of Kentucky; Clayton Hollier, Louisiana State University; Tom Isakeit, Texas A&M University; Tamra Jackson-Ziems, University of Nebraska-Lincoln; Douglas Jardine, Kansas State University; Heather Kelly, University of Tennessee; Robert Kemerait, University of Georgia; Nathan Kleczewski, University of Illinois; Alyssa Koehler-Betts, University of Delaware; Steve Koenning, North Carolina State University; Robert Kratochvil, University of Maryland; James Kurle, University of Minnesota; David Langston, Virginia Tech; Josh Lofton, Oklahoma State University; Horacio Lopez-Nicora, The Ohio State University; LeAnn Lux, North Carolina State University; Dean Malvick, University of Minnesota; Dylan Mangel, University of Nebraska; Samuel Markell, North Dakota State University; Febina Mathew, South Dakota State University; Hillary Mehl, Virginia Tech; Kelsey Mehl, University of Kentucky; Santiago Mideros, University of Illinois; Daren Mueller, Iowa State University; John Mueller, Clemson University; Robert Mulrooney, University of Delaware; Berlin Nelson, North Dakota State University; Melvin Newman, University of Tennessee; Rodrigo Onofre, Kansas State University; Larry Osborne, Pioneer Hi-Bred International; Charles Overstreet, Louisiana State University; Guy Padgett, Louisiana State University; Patrick Phipps, Virginia Tech; Michael Plumblee, Clemson University; Paul Price, LSU AgCenter; Greg Roth, Pennsylvania State University; Madalyn Shires, South Dakota State University; Edward Sikora, Auburn University; Adam Sisson, Iowa State University; Ian Small, University of Florida; Erik Smith, Cornell University; Damon Smith, University of Wisconsin-Madison; Terry Spurlock, University of Arkansas; Connie Tande, South Dakota State University; Darcy Telenko, Purdue University; Albert Tenuta, Ontario Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs; Lindsey Thiessen, North Carolina State University; Rachel Vann, North Carolina State University; Fred Warner, Michigan State University; Tristan Watson, Louisiana State University; Wade Webster, North Dakota State University; Bill Wiebold, University of Missouri; Ken Wise, Cornell University; Kiersten Wise, University of Kentucky; J. Allen Wrather, University of Missouri; and Yuan Zeng, Virginia Tech.